CANADA DAY - JULY 1/24 ~ Parade, fireworks & much, much more!  See YOU there!    **Effective May 17 - September 6, the municipal office will close at noon on Fridays.    
Town of Bruce Mines

About Bruce Mines

Bruce Mines is a small but vibrant community on the shores of the North Channel of Lake Huron. Nestled on a beautiful bay, the town is located on Trans Canada Highway 17 about 65 km East of Sault Ste Marie. The town offers all of the amenities needed for families of all ages to live here and a number of activites and entertainment events for visitors and residents alike.

Named after James Bruce, who was appointed as Governor General of Canada in 1846, the town of Bruce Mines was first established that same year as a copper mining area by John Keating. The Mines employed skilled Cornish miners who had recently emigrated from England. The restored Simpson Mine Shaft demonstrates copper mining of the 1800's and is open for guided tours during the summer months (currently closed for repairs).

Mayor: Lory Patteri.
Council Members: Mariola Morin, Jody Orto, Shane Rock and Jamie Stopes
Phone: (705) 785-3493
Fax: (705) 785-3170
Email: [email protected]

~ 9126 Hwy. 17 East, PO Box 220, Bruce Mines ON   P0R 1C0 ~